WC 2018: Australia

Group C

Australia has qualified for 4 consecutive football WCs, but was forced to take the longer route to the Russian Cup after being unable to gain direct entry due to a close loss against Saudi Arabia. This national team played 22 matches in qualifying, including an Asian-Syrian face-off, which culminated in a win against Honduras. This victory made Australia the second-last team to claim a spot at the upcoming WC 2018.
The core of the young team that won in Brazil in 2014 has stayed intact, allowing the country to claim its first AC title the following year and develop a unique style of attack. Former coach Ange Postecoglou quit just a week after the Australian team secured their entry into Russia, and was replaced by Bert van Marwijk in February.

Team Members

  • Matt Ryan - GK
  • Brad Jones - GK
  • Danny Vukonic - GK
  • Mitchell Langerak - GK
  • Trent Sainsbury - Defender
  • Matthew Jurman - Defender
  • Milos Degenek - Defender
  • Bailey Wright - Defender
  • Joshua Risdon - Defender
  • Aziz Behich - Defender
  • Aleksandr Susnjar - Defender
  • James Meredith - Defender
  • Fran Karacic - Defender
  • Alex Gersbach - Defender
  • Mile Jedinak - Midfielder
  • Aaron Mooy - Midfielder
  • Tom Rogic - Midfielder
  • Massimo Luongo - Midfielder
  • Jackson Irvine - Midfielder
  • Joshua Brillante - Midfielder
  • Dimi Petratos - Midfielder
  • Mark Milligan - Midfielder
  • Tim Cahill - Attacker
  • Mathew Lecki - Attacker
  • James Troisi - Attacker
  • Daniel Arzani - Attacker
  • Andrew Nabbout - Attacker
  • Nikita Rukavytsya - Attacker
  • Robbie Kruse - Attacker
  • Jamie Maclaren - Attacker
  • Apostolos Giannou - Attacker


Bert van Marwijk

Australia’s current coach is 65-year old Dutch former professional player van Marwijk, who replaced Ange Postecoglou after his resignation last year. Van Marwijk led the Netherlands’ team to WC 2010 in South Africa, where they were beaten by Spain in extra time.

Past WC History

The Australian team, colloquially known as the ‘Socceroos’, have appeared at the WC on 4 occasions in 1974, 2006, 2010, and 2014. In their first appearance, the team won a scoreless draw against their Chilean competitors, eventually leaving the tournament without any goals.
In 2006, Australia qualified for Round 16 in Germany before narrowly missing a win against Italy. In South Africa in 2010, the team lost 4-0 against Germany, being eliminated on goal differences of 1-1 against Ghana and 2-1 against Serbia. The team also lost all 3 of their matches in Brazil in 2014.


  • First appeared in 1974
  • Last appeared in 2014
  • 4 qualifying campaigns
  • No semi final or final appearances
  • No championship wins to date
  • Best result: Round 16 of 2006


Designed by Nike, Australia’s 2018 kits consist of a golden jersey with a dark green collar and detailing. The jersey also has a unique print on its sleeves to celebrate one of the team’s most important achievements – their 2006 WC qualifier victory.