WC 2018: England

Group G

England played their very first WC back in 1950 and the last in 2014. In 1966 England won the WC for the first and only time. They have made a total of 14 first stage appearances and have played in 2 semi-final matches. They remain one of the biggest football-loving nations and they reached Russia by defeating Slovenia, sealing their spot for their 5th consecutive Cup. This matches their record of playing 6 in a row from 1950-1970.

Team Members

  • Trent Alexander-Arnold - Defender
  • Gary Cahill - Defender
  • Kyle Walker - Defender
  • Eric Dier - Defender
  • Phil Jones - Defender
  • John Stones - Defender
  • Harry Maguire - Defender
  • Danny Rose - Defender
  • Kieran Trippier - Defender
  • Marcus Rashford - Forward
  • Harry Kane - Forward
  • Jordan Henderson - Midfielder
  • Jesse Lingard - Midfielder
  • Loftus-Cheek, Ruben - Midfielder
  • Raheem Sterling - Midfielder
  • Fabian Delph - Midfielder
  • Dele Alli - Midfielder
  • Young, Ashley - Midfielder
  • Jack Butland - GK
  • Jordan Pickford - GK
  • Nick Pope - GK
  • Jamie Vardy - Forward
  • Danny Welbeck - Forward


Gareth Southgate

Gareth Southgate was formally appointed as England’s head coach on 30 November 2016, after having joined the team as caretaker coach during September of that year. No stranger to physically playing the game, Southgate is a former Three Lions Defender. He has successfully led England to its 6thconsecutive WC appearance.

Past WC History

Besides having won the WC in 1966 on home soil, England also managed to reach fourth place in the 1990 instalment of the greatest football tournament on earth, held in Italy. They failed to qualify for the finals on 3 separate occasions, being 1974 in West Germany, 1978 in Argentina and 1994 in the USA, with 1994 being a major shocker. They have managed to reach the quarterfinal rounds on 6 occasions.


  • 1 WC Championship win
  • Brazil 2014 was technically their worst ever performance at a WC
  • During the year of their WC victory, England played in 32 matches and scored 89 goals
  • The average goals per match were 2.8
  • England qualified for the 2018 WC on 11 November 2016


As far as their official kit is concerned for the 2018 WC, England has opted for a very classic look for their Nike strip. The home kit consists of a white shirt, blue shorts and white socks. A small St. George’s cross appears on the ribbed collar and the famous Three Lions crest adorns the chest. The away kit consists of a red jersey with white detail, white shorts and red socks.