WC 2018: Germany

Group C

Germany is as synonymous with the world’s greatest football tournament as what the Williams sisters are to tennis. They are the current titleholders, having won all of their games in the WC 2014 in Brazil beating Argentina in the final 1-0. As with everything else, they are approaching the 2018 Cup with true German precision, having already tested Russian football waters by winning the Confederations Cup in July. Holding true to their WC winning streak, they qualified for this year’s tournament by winning 10 out of 10 games

Team Members

  • Bernd Leno - GK
  • Manuel Neuer - GK
  • Mark-Andre ter Stegen - GK
  • Kevin Trapp - GK
  • Jerome Boateng - Defender
  • Matthias Ginter - Defender
  • Jonas Hector - Defender
  • Mats Hummels - Defender
  • Joshua Kimmich - Defender
  • Marvin Plattenhardt - Defender
  • Antonio Rudiger - Defender
  • Niklas Sule - Defender
  • Jonathan Tah - Defender
  • Julian Brandt - Midfielder
  • Julian Draxler - Midfielder
  • Leon Goretzka - Midfielder
  • Ilkay Gundogan - Midfielder
  • Sami Khedira - Midfielder
  • Toni Kroos - Midfielder
  • Mesut Ozil - Midfielder
  • Sebastian Rudy - Midfielder
  • Mario Gomez - Forward
  • Thomas Muller - Forward
  • Nils Petersen - Forward
  • Marco Reus - Forward
  • Leroy Sane - Forward
  • Timo Werner - Forward


Joachim Low

Low has been keeping a close eye on the team since having assisted 2006 WC coach Jurgen Klinsmann. Low took over the reins after the tournament of 2006, and proved himself to be the best man for the job, having led his team all the way to victory in 2014. He will no doubt be giving it his all to do it again this year.

Past WC History

Germany won their very first football WC in 1954, when the team was still known as West Germany. The 1954 victory has since been dubbed the unlikeliest of all Cup victories, as the winning goal was scored during the 84th minute of play, after Germany had already sunk to a 2-0 deficit during the first eight minutes of the match. It would be 20 years into the future before Germany managed to repeat the trick, having won their next WC in 1974 when they were up against the Netherlands in Munich. 1990 saw more of the same in Rome, and in 2014 they played Argentina all the way to the victory in Rio.


  • Germany has 4 WC victories under the belt
  • All-time WC ranking of second place
  • Germany’s Lother Matthaeus has participated in 5 WC’s


In keeping with longstanding tradition, Adidas is once again the producer of Germany’s iconic jersey for the 2018 WC. 2018’s kit is predominantly white, and is an obvious re-invention of the 1990 jersey. The overlap collar is an exact replica of the one used on the original shirt. The shorts are black and white.