WC 2018: Spain

Group B

Spain are no strangers to the world’s greatest football tournament. They first participated in 1934 taking 5th place. They have since participated a total of 14 times, and were crowned champions in 2010 in South Africa. After failing to defend their title in 2014, the management got a shakeup with the coaching role being handed over to Julen Lopetegui. His appointment has reinvigorated the side, while their defence has also been boosted with Sergio Ramos and Gerard Pique playing anchor roles. They were slotted into Group B along with Morocco, Iran and Portugal who are no pushover themselves.

Team Members

  • David de Gea - GK
  • Pepe Reina - GK
  • Sergio Rico - GK
  • Gerard Piqué - Defender
  • Alvaro Odriozola - Defender
  • Sergio Ramos - Defender
  • Jordi Alba - Defender
  • Monreal - Defender
  • Nacho - Defender
  • Dani Carvajal - Defender
  • César Azpilicueta - Defender
  • Javi Martínez - Defender
  • Sergio Busquets - Midfielder
  • Andrés Iniesta - Midfielder
  • Thiago Alcantara - Midfielder
  • David Silva - Midfielder
  • Marco Asensio - Midfielder
  • Isco - Midfielder
  • Koke - Midfielder
  • Lucas Vazquez - Forward
  • Iago Aspas - Forward
  • Rodrigo Moreno - Forward
  • Diego Costa - Forward
  • Mijat Gacinovic - Midfielder
  • Aleksandar Mitrovic - Forward
  • Aleksandar Prijovic - Forward
  • Luka Jovic - Forward


Julen Lopetegui

Lopetegui is no stranger to the world’s greatest football tournament. As part of Spain’s 1994 squad, he played as goal keeper for the national side as well as for Real Madrid and Barcelona. He succeeded Vincente De Bosque as coach after Spain’s participation at the UEFA EURO 2016. Before he was put in charge of the national side, he coached Spain’s youth team and FC Porto youth team with resounding success.

Past WC History

Spain first launched their Cup campaign back in 1934. On their debut, they placed 5th in the quarterfinals. They then withdraw from the 1938 Cup, before coming back in 1950 to take 4th place. This would subsequently be their highest achievement until 2010. The side missed out on a few Cups, failing to qualify in 1954, 1958, 1970 and 1974. From 1978 onward, they have been ever-present force at the world’s biggest football competition. They finally found success in 2010 when they were crowned champions in South Africa. In 2014 in Brazil, their performance dropped again as they failed to get out of the group stage.


  • Made their first WC appearance in 1934
  • 14 first-round appearances
  • 2 Semi-finals
  • 1 Final
  • 1 Championship title
  • Best Achievement – Champions in 2010


Spain’s home jersey is inspired by their 1994 Cup appearance, with a solid red base, yellow insignia and blue trimmings. Designed by Adidas, the shirt has a red diamond graphic on the right side while the Adidas logo moves back to the centre. The red shirt is completed with blue shorts and black socks. The away kit has a very light almost grey-blue shade of white. The base colour is complimented with bright red trimmings and red insignia. White shorts and grey socks complete the outfit for a clean look.